Looking for Something ?

Saturday, December 14, 2019

Cowboy's Christmas Redemption by Maisey Yates Book Review

Cowboy Christmas Redemption (Gold Valley, #8)
Cowboy's  Christmas Redemption by Maisey Yates

Okay so first things first Thank you to Harlequin for providing an ARC of the book.

Now here is what I thought of the book, see I was really expecting to love this book, I am a sucker for Christmas romance movies and I am always in the mood for a great romance. I was so excited to read a book by a new author and the premise really interested me.
Unfortunately, it ended up not being my cup of tea.
The writing style wasn't bad, though it wasn't great either. The story was annoying to me in ways I didn't expect, while also being so repetitive. Let me explain, there is only so many times a character can have the same inner dialogue before it feels like the author lacked material to write a book of this length (and it isn't a long book). 
While the ending wasn't as bad as I expected, I still had to skim most of the book to be able to get through it.
In the end I didn't have a great time, it took me days to get through a novel that with such length should've taken me hours.  Unfortunately, for me it was a bad execution of what could've been a really enjoyable read.
And so, I have to give this
2/5 stars.
-Bookarina

Sunday, December 8, 2019

Hearts of Magic by Kay Doherty Book Review


Hearts of Magic

Disclaimer : I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review !

M/M  PARANORMAL ROMANCE

OMG ! Guilty pleasure for sure, this was SUCH a page turner.I was captivated from the first pages up until the very end, the story line was super interesting and the author had me completely invested in what was happening with our main characters.It is not the first book in a series and this did put me off a bit, but it did not stop me from enjoying this novel. Though I have been recommended to read from the first novel in this series (since I enjoyed this one so much).I am sure I would have loved it even more had I read the other books in the series before this one, though I have to say we do start this book with the first meeting of the two main character and thus it allows, readers such as myself whom didn't read the other books, to be completely sucked into the storyline as it doesn't feel like we missed anything major in their lives.I highly recommend it !
4/5 stars-Bookarina

Friday, December 6, 2019

On The Edge of the Dark Sea of Darkness by Andrew Peterson Book Review

On the Edge of the Dark Sea of Darkness
Disclaimer: I received this book in exchange of an honest review !

Well, well , well let me start by saying that this was truly a surprising read. this is considered a "Christian" book which to be honest is not obviously so when reading it. As an atheist myself I did not have a problem on the religion side of it, though there is the mention of "Maker" and themes such as forgiveness and faithfulness.

Now  let's talk about the story itself, it was very entertaining. I had a great time reading it and the writing style made  it a quick and captivating read. This is a war story which being fan of history always makes for a great reading time (for me), I did have a little problem with certain events and dialogues as I couldn't understand why certain things had never been mentioned or talked about before that point. The author also has a very distinct humour which might not attract everyone, some of his humour did fall flat at certain times in my case.
Story wise, while this is not a perfect story by any mean, it is a very interesting book. I would also highly recommend it to younger readers that are delving or starting to read YA as this book doesn't contain any graphic or coarse language.

Overall while I had a good time I will not personally continue this series, though I would recommend it to younger readers as I believe I would have enjoyed this a lot more if I had read it when I was around 10 years old.

3/5 stars
-Bookarina

Monday, November 25, 2019

All Fired Up by Lori Foster Book Review !!




All Fired Up
Disclaimer : I received a copy of this book in exchange of an honest review !!

I had mixed feelings about this book. I went into this wanting my perfect guilty pleasure bad boy romance with a girl next door. While the overall story was interesting I felt like it took too much of the time/romance that I wanted to read, see I was expecting more romance, angst and sexy moments and what I got was overwhelmingly protective older brothers of Charlotte and it just wasn't what I wanted ?
That being said it did also take me a couple pages to be immersed in the story, I did however love the inta family Mitch gained and the whole romance (as short as it was for this type of romance book in my opinion).
The drama was great and if you go into this story expecting less romance, more relations (friend, family, etc) and a happy ending that leaves you with a smile on your face this is the story for you !

3.75 stars
-Bookarina

Friday, November 15, 2019

All Fired Up by Lori Foster -- Book Excerpt





All Fired UpAll Fired Up by Lori Foster

On sale: November 19 2019
The newest and third book in the Road to love series !

My Review Up November 25th !
(Spoiler Alert I enjoyed it a lot; a guilty pleasure of mine for sure !)

He’s tantalizing trouble she can’t resist…


Charlotte Parrish has always wanted a certain kind of man: someone responsible, settled, boring.
Bad boys need not apply.
But when her car leaves her stranded and a mysterious stranger with brooding eyes
and a protective streak comes to her rescue, she can’t deny how drawn she is to him.
In town searching for family he’s never met, Mitch is everything she never thought she wanted,
and suddenly everything she craves.
Finding his half brothers after all these years is more than Mitch Crews has allowed himself to wish for.
Finding love never even crossed his mind…until he meets Charlotte.
She’s sweet, warmhearted, sexier than she knows—and too damn good for an ex-con like him.
But when his past comes back to haunt him, putting Charlotte and the family he’s come to care for in danger,
Mitch isn’t playing by the rules.
He’s already surrendered his heart, but now he’ll risk his life.

Here are links to pre-order the book !

You can find the author and tag her 
Twitter:@LoriLFoster
Instagram:@LoriLFoster
and 
Facebook: @lorifoster


Lori Foster is a New York Times and USA TODAY bestselling author,
with books from a variety of publishers, including Berkley/Jove,
Kensington, St. Martin's, Harlequin and Silhouette.
Lori has been a recipient of the prestigious
RT Book Reviews Career Achievement Award for Series Romantic Fantasy,
and for Contemporary Romance.
For more about Lori, visit her Web site at www.lorifoster.com.

HERE IS THE EXCERPT : (ENJOY!)
From CHAPTER ONE
The warm, muggy night closed around him, leaving his shirt damp in places. Sweat prickled the back of his neck. Inside Freddie’s he’d find air-conditioning, but he’d never again take fresh air for granted. He valued every single breath of humid air that filled his lungs.
The moon climbed the black sky as time slipped by. How much time, he didn’t know: he’d stopped keeping track the second he saw her.
Headlights from the occasional passing car came near him but didn’t intrude on the shadows where he stood.
Transfixed by her.
Damn, he wanted that mouth.
In the short time he’d locked eyes on her, a dozen fantasies had formed—most of them based on her naked lips, the way she occasionally pursed them, how she twisted her lips to the side in frustration, even how she blew out a breath. The whole package was nice…but it was her mouth that kept him unmoving, staring. Imagining.
Slight of build, she served as a bright spot in the dark gloom. Understated and yet something struck him as undeniably sexy.
Once he’d noticed her, he couldn’t look away.
After speaking softly into a phone, she bit her plump bottom lip, and her expression showed frustrated defeat.
The lady had made several consecutive calls. Was she in need of assistance? Given the way she’d circled a car, occasionally glaring at it, he thought she did. Judging by her frown, there wouldn’t be any help on the way.
Since getting out of prison a year ago, Mitch had spent an excess of time with women. Hell, next to fresh air, freedom and steak, sex topped his list. He’d immersed himself in human contact, the gentleness, the carnality.
He’d taken satisfaction in pleasing someone else while abating a base need. Hell, watching a woman come gave him as much pleasure as his own release.
So he’d gotten his fill and then some—all while making plans to change the course of his life. To make it better. To carve out a meaningful future.
Here he was, where he needed to be, determined, resolute… and sidetracked by a gorgeous woman.
That in itself left him edgy with curiosity. No other woman had snagged his attention this way. He knew zip about her, and yet seeing her had heat building beneath his skin.
He tried to look away, but his attention kept zeroing back.
Freaking bizarre.
It was like seeing something you hadn’t known you wanted, but immediately recognizing it as necessary.
Even dressed in jeans, a T-shirt and flip-flops, he knew the lady had nothing in common with him. Innocence all but screamed from her slender body and reserved manner. To someone with his jaded background, that put her in the “do not touch” category.
His fingers curled and his palms burned. Yeah, he wanted to touch her despite that.
And he didn’t look away.
From the shadowed corner just outside the bar, he watched her thumb dial another number into her phone. While holding the phone to her ear, she paced. The overhead glow of the security light touched her in select places, alternately highlighting and then shadowing her understated curves.
High cheekbones framed a slender, straight nose. She tucked a few drifting curls behind a small ear. Though rounded, he saw the mulish determination in her stubborn little chin.
And that mouth…thoughts of it under his mouth—and on his body—tightened his jaw until his molars ached.
For the first time in years, he wondered if he could put off his agenda for a bit, say something to her, see if there was something between them despite the seemingly obvious roadblocks.
Opposites attract, and all that.
He’d made this trip a center point for a new future.
In this Podunk town he’d subtly uncovered what he could about Brodie and Jack Crews. That was the priority after all. Moving forward, leaving the past behind. It started with the Crews brothers. Hitting the bar tonight might have gained him more insight into them.
But would a slight detour—the type with long curly brown hair and a sweet little body—matter so much?
If he listened to his dick, the answer was no. His balls were giving a resounding “go for it” as well.
His head though… Hell, his head claimed he could afford a delay. In the grand scheme of things, it wouldn’t matter.
Since arriving in town, he’d discovered that the men were well liked, each of them married, and they had an odd but interesting business called Mustang Transport. Locals claimed they dealt with mundane shit as well as serial killers and psychopaths. Somewhere in the middle, the truth lurked.
He’d also heard about their mother. He’d been hearing about her for as long as he could remember. For very different reasons she interested him almost as much as Brodie and Jack.
He had no connection to Rosalyn Crews, but meeting the men felt important in a way nothing else ever had. He couldn’t explain it, even to himself. He’d gone through life making damn sure he needed no one, and that he wanted only for things he could get for himself.
Now, much as it chapped his ass, he wanted something else— and it depended on Brodie and Jack Crews.
It didn’t have to happen right away, though. He wouldn’t mind burning off some energy before making that initial contact—especially if he could convince this woman to give him a few hours of her time.
He noted every small movement as she spoke into her phone. He couldn’t catch every word, but the low murmur of her voice stroked over him. He was pretty sure she left a message.
Suddenly she held the phone back and stared at it. Hot annoyance tightened her mouth and brought down her brows.
“Perfect. Just freaking perfect.”
He heard that loud and clear.
Jamming the phone into a back pocket—a tight fit over that sweetly rounded backside—she dropped her head with a throaty groan that traveled along his spine like a sensual stroke. Her eyes closed, her mouth flattened, and the damp night drew her long, light brown hair into coiling curls.
He’d love to tangle his fingers in her unruly hair.
As if spurred by her innate energy, the curls moved, bouncing a little, drifting with the breeze. Judging people had kept him alive. With this woman, he sensed she didn’t indulge in downtime very often. Even standing still, she seemed to…spark with energy.
Curiosity cut into him, mingling with the carnal interest.
Had she been stood up? Walked out on a date?
Just then she growled, “Dead. Stupid phone.” The thump of her hand to a metal lamppost sent a dull clang ringing over the area. “Now what?”
Ah, well that answered his question.
White teeth nibbled her bottom lip in consideration. Considering, she glanced at the bar, shook her head once, and returned to pacing.
Clouds covered the moon, amplifying the darkness. She was far too petite to be stranded alone.
Doesn’t mean she wants a quick fuck, he argued with himself.
The young woman stewing in front of him might be more likely to sell brownies at a local bake sale, but engage in a hot one-night stand? Probably not.
Sure, she was standing outside a rowdy bar all alone on a late night—but then, so was he.
So what should he do? Be smart and turn away, or see if she needed help? He remained undecided when two men exited the bar with a lot of noisy fanfare.
Drunken asses.
The woman glanced up, then quickly away with a roll of her eyes—but not quickly enough to avoid notice.
“Charlotte, hey! Whatssup?” With a leer, a mop-headed man added, “You waitin’ for me, sugar?”
Mitch caught the way his unshaven bud snickered, proving the irony in the question.
“Definitely not,” she replied, her tone crisp and clear.
Mitch liked the sound of her voice. Not all girly or too sweet, but firm and no-nonsense.
He did not like how the two dunces eyeballed her anyway, stumbling in her direction despite her preferences.
“Ah, c’mon now, don’t be like that,” the talkative one said.
His idiot friend guffawed, stumbled and heckled some more.
Charlotte—nice name—propped her hands on slim hips and issued a dire warning. “You’d be smart to keep walking, Bernie.”
“How come you’re here alone?” He tried a teasing voice that Mitch suspected did the opposite of entice. “You know where to find me this time of night.”
“Drunk, as usual. Yes, I know.” Annoyance squared her narrow shoulders. “Not that it’s any of your business, but I finished a late delivery and was heading home, then had car trouble.”
She added with menace, “Help is on the way.”
“I’ll keep ya company until then.”
“No, you will not.”
“But I’m already here.” Intent brought Bernie closer.
She didn’t exactly look afraid, but more like fed up. Before Mitch gave it enough thought, his feet carried him out of the shadows and immediately drew her attention.
Soft blue. Now that he saw her eyes more clearly, he found them every bit as compelling as her mouth.
Alert, maybe a little wary, she zeroed in on him. Her lips parted and she blinked twice.
You’re sealing your fate, sugar. He tried a smile of part interest, part reassurance.
Her gaze went beyond him, searching the darkness, and then snapped back again. “Where did you come from?”
With his attention only on her, Mitch held up his hands and avoided a direct answer. “Just seeing if you need any help.”
Emboldened by liquid courage, the two men blustered at him. “G’lost, asshole. She don’t need nothin’ from you.”
As if Bernie and his bad grammar didn’t hover there beside her, Charlotte asked, “You’re new around here?”
Mitch gave her a long look. What, did she know everyone in Red Oak, Ohio? Probably. He could jog the main street, one end to the other, without breaking a sweat. “I’ve been here a few days.” Whether he was passing through, or sticking around, wasn’t her business. Besides, for now, he wasn’t sure.
Brazen stupidity urged Bernie to step up in front of him. “You ain’t listening. I told you to—”
Disgust curved Mitch’s mouth into a mean smile meant to intimidate. “You’re right. I’m not listening to you.” Insulting disregard took his gaze over the smaller man before he dismissed him. “I’m talking only to her.”
By size difference alone, it was beyond ludicrous for Bernie to issue a challenge.
And yet, he did. “Are you fuckin’ stupid?”
Charlotte’s voice, now edged with anger, interrupted anything Mitch might have replied or done. “You’ve been warned, Bernie. If you don’t knock it off right now, you are not going to like the consequences.”
Still, the fool didn’t listen. “I said,” Bernie blasted, his breath putrid, “for you to get lost.” A scrawny fist, aiming for Mitch’s face, swatted through the air.
Bad move, asshole.
Instincts could be a son of a bitch. Mitch leaned away from the weak hit…and at the same time automatically jabbed with his right.
His fist landed right on Bernie’s chin.
Eyes rolling back, the smaller man started to drop.
Infuriated that he’d lost his grip in front of Charlotte, Mitch caught the front of Bernie’s shirt and held him on his tiptoes. “You,” he whispered between barely moving lips, “need to learn when to quit.” Familiar anger surfaced despite his efforts to tamp it down…
And a small, cool hand touched him.
Struck clean down to his toes, Mitch peered first at those pale, tapered fingers with short, neat nails resting lightly against the roped muscles of his sun-darkened forearm.
Fucking sexy, that’s what it was, highlighting all their differences, especially those of strength and capability.
Her face drew him next, the delicate lines, smooth skin…that mouth and those eyes.
That wild hair.
“I think,” she said softly, a smile teasing her mouth, “if you let Bernie go now, he’ll make a hasty retreat.” Slanting those mesmerizing eyes toward old Bernie, she added with silky menace, “At least, he better.”
Keen awareness nudged out anger.
Everything about her appealed to him.
She stood to his left, and the heady scent of her skin and hair—like baby powder and flowers—teased his nose.
He drew a deeper, fuller breath, filling his lungs with her and knew he could happily drown on that scent.
Slowly, wanting to keep her close, Mitch unclenched his fingers and allowed Bernie to stumble back to where his buddy helped to prop him up.
Unconcerned with that, Charlotte’s fingers shifted in the lightest of explorations before she snatched her hand away.
Interesting—especially that splash of color on her cheeks.
She looked up at him, gave a wan smile, and whispered, “Thank you.”
“For popping him?”
Curls bounced as she gave a quick shake of her head. “For not doing him more damage.” She wrinkled her nose, leaning closer to confide, “You could have, I know.”
Huh. No recriminations?
She actually thanked him?
Not what he was used to, but he’d take it. 

Excerpted from All Fired Up by Lori Foster. Copyright © 2019 by Lori Foster Published by HQN Books.

Tuesday, November 5, 2019

Songs from the Deep by Kelly Powell Book Review

Songs from the Deep
Disclaimer I received an ARC in exchange of an honest review !
This book was a surprise, I went into it with low expectations as I don't often enjoy reading mysteries, though the deadly sirens are what intrigued me the most.
This debut novel is truly unique, I loved the writing the way the author managed to pull you into the atmosphere and the world in a few pages. The music element was also really fun to read and the way everyone was so accustomed to the unwritten laws of how to stay alive with deadly sirens in your daily life.
I loved how everyone was so quick to accept the murder as a siren attack, since nobody or most people don't know much about sirens/how they didn't want to believe it could be a murder by another human.
The story was unique and not gory as it could've been which is also great for younger YA readers, the best part was me not knowing solving the mystery before the BIG REVEAL.
Overall, this was a good story and it really did capture my attention, was it one of my favourite book ever or book release by a new author of 2019, sadly no. But I do recommend it for lovers of mysteries and people who love fantasy looking to put a foot into mysteries !
3.85/5 stars
Bookarina

Saturday, November 2, 2019

Grimgar of Fantasy and Ash volume 1 by Ao Jyumonji Light novel Review

Welcome to this book review
Grimgar of Fantasy and Ash: Volume 1
This is the first Light novel I have ever read, for those who don't know a Light novel is a Japanese novel with a couple of pictures inside (in this case the illustrations are by Eiri Shirai). They often get made into animes or mangas.
Grimgar of Fantasy and Ash is the first volume in a long (still ongoing) Light novel series, fun-fact to be aware of is that after reading the first two volumes of this series you would be able to watch the anime adaptation as it was inspired by those volumes.
I will, of course, tell you my thoughts on that when I have read the second volume and watched the anime.
Now let's get into the review, as far as this volume went, it did take a couple of pages, nearly 50 to get used to the writing style and how the story was told. I really enjoyed my experience, however at times it was annoying to have to refer to the first couple of pages of the book where the information on the world, monsters and images of the characters to get an idea of what they look like and what the monsters or places are. See, while this was a really fast read, it was just annoying; for example you'd be in a fight and they'd say goblins, but he was only trained to kill human like creatures, so you would go to the front and see what they meant. Otherwise, I really enjoyed the world and the characters, apart from Ranta whom got on my nerves all the time and Yume who kept saying her own name when talking.
Haruhiro is really interesting, I can't wait to see him get badass and all strong, for now it is nice to see him scared and really thrown off by the world that he and eleven other characters have been put in with no memories apart from their own name.
Overall, it is an enjoyable read and I rated it more on my enjoyment and the way the characters evolved throughout the story then the ways somethings didn't make a lot of sense, such as meeting characters for only a few page and never talking about them again or getting random words or places introduced without any explanations.

And so, I ended up giving it a
4/5 stars.

Bookarina.

Thursday, October 31, 2019

Beware the READING SLUMP !!!! (What to do, not do and general advice)


Aaah Reading Slumps..., the bane of all readers.
Here are tips and tricks to get out of the dreaded reading slump, while these will not work for everyone as everyone is unique it does personally help me.

1. Do something else: I will often go out and see a movie or watch a TV show I'd been meaning to see. This is one of the best things to do, sometimes taking a couple of days off reading is the best solution.

2. Read a graphic novel or comic: While this advice can seem strange since a reading slump makes you unable in a way to read. I personally find that reading a quick book that has more images than anything else will make me want to read something else after.

3. STOP TRYING TO MAKE YOURSELF READ, this will only worsen or make your reading slump longer. Unfortunately it even made some people stop reading for a year or just lose their love of reading.

4. Try to not be so hard on yourself, take some "me time", go to the spa, take a bath..., the possibilities are endless you just need to take a deep breath and let go for a while.

Ultimately, a reading slump is just a natural thing, when you over do something more often than not you will be unable to do it for an extended period of time; and so my final advice is to read at your pace. Often we will try to read more or go faster and while that may work for some, don't be discouraged or frustrated and over do it if it isn't the case for you. Everyone is different and so your reading journey will never be an exact copy of someone else's experience. The goal is having fun, so don't be afraid to take a break and only do it when it feels like a good time once more !

-Bookarina


Tuesday, October 29, 2019

Tricks to Help take Stickers and Sticker Residue Off your Books !

Here are little tips and tricks I learned over the years to take stickers, sticker residue and dirtiness of books.
First thing you need to know is that it will NOT work on book surfaces that are like paper, like parchment or otherwise, in these cases unfortunately it would most likely only damage them more.

When you have those annoying stickers  and haven't tried to take them off yet you can:

1. Use an hair dryer, just hold it at a reasonable distance and not overly long time as it could burn the book; touch the sticker with your finger until it is hot, or really warm then work fast and carefully lift it.

2. In some cases those stickers if you pull them slowly towards the other end of the sticker and keeping it close to the book sort of dragging it until it is gone.


When you have tried and it didn't work or there is just dirt and sticker residue on your book:

1. Use liquid lighter fluid, put some on brown paper or a tissue; a small amount will do and rub it in circular motions.

2. On mate pale covers you can use an eraser and rub the sticker residue off, do it gently and then lightly apply water on a dry towel to take some of the difference off and make it look more uniform.

3. You can also use a little bit of rubbing alcohol on a cotton pad to gently take the residue off.


Here it is some methods to take the stickers and sticker residue off your books, I hope this helps !

-Bookarina

Saturday, October 26, 2019

Five Must Read YA Fantasy

Here are five must read YA fantasy, not to say that there aren't many more that are amazing, but these ones are some of my favourites.

1. To Kill a Kingdom by Alexandra Christo
To Kill a Kingdom
This is a standalone fantasy; it's a dark retelling of the little mermaid.
Where the little mermaid has to take a heart every year !
I cannot recommend this enough, it is beautifully written and one of the most originals retelling of the little mermaid I have ever read.


2. An Enchantment of Ravens by Margaret Rogerson
An Enchantment of Ravens
This novel is also a standalone fantasy that is about a young girl called Isobel a prodigy who paints and a fae who orders a portrait from the young artist, she makes a mistake that could cost her her life, she paints human emotion into his eyes.
She is then whisked away by Rook to the fae lands to await her trial in the autumn lands.

3. Graceling by Kristin Cashore

Graceling (Graceling Realm, #1)
This is the first book in a fantasy trilogy, each book has a different main character. While they are different they are set in the same world and they do intertwine which is really interesting.
This is set in a world where some people get powers, Katsa our main character has the power to kill a man with her bare hands, due to that she is the kings thug. She kills whomever he wants her to. Enter Prince Po.
This world is beautifully made, it is political and extremely well written.

4. The Goose Girl by Shannon Hale

The Goose Girl
This is the first book in a series this is the retelling of The Goose Girl, Ani the crown princess of a kingdom has the feared power to communicate with birds, seen from afar due to her difficulty to communicate  and connect with humans. Sent to marry a prince in a foreign kingdom she gets caught in a mutiny. With no one to turn to for help in a foreign country or to trust she becomes a goose girl responsible for the care of those birds in the kingdom where she will have to use her powers to fulfill her destiny.

it can be read as a standalone !

5. Throne of Glass by Sarah J Maas

Throne of Glass (Throne of Glass, #1)

This is the first book in a 6 books series; while this is not my favourite in the series this is what started it all and so it holds a precious place in my heart.

We follow the story of a most notorious assassin Celaena Sardothien, she is recruited by the prince to enter a deadly tournament to become the kings assassin. 


Here it is some of my favourites and some less known/extremely well known stories in the YA fantasy,
-Bookarina

Tuesday, October 22, 2019

Twice in a Blue Moon by Christina Lauren Book Review (ARC)

Twice in a Blue Moon by Christina Lauren (ARC)


Twice in a Blue Moon

First of All thank you Simon&Schuster for providing me with an Arc.
Disclaimer-This doesn't affect my review-

This book was wild ride,
I loved the second chance romance and how the characters had grown individually in between the time stamps. As always I am a HUGE fan of their writing style and storytelling, this was no different.
The only book I have ever not loved by them was Half Night Stand and that’s because of the cat-fishing aspect of it that just rubbed me the wrong way.
Anyhow, Twice in a Blue Moon we get a similar “not meant to be a funny book (as in you don’t read all the time laughing out loud)” such as Rommies was, there were a couple of funny moments though !
I love seeing Sam and Tate igniting their feelings for each other a second time; While the Hollywood actors setting is not for everyone the angst and the misunderstandings did make it all worth it for me in the end.
Overall, while this was not one of my favourite Christina Lauren novel I did really enjoy it. Though it wasn’t one I will go back and read parts of it or remember vividly each details of it.
3.85/5⭐️
Bookarina.

Saturday, October 19, 2019

5 Quotes from They Both Die At The End by Adam Silvera

They Both Die at The End by Adam Silvera

They Both Die at the End
1."No matter how we choose to live, we both die at the end."

2."There has to be more to life than just imagining a future for yourself. I can't just wish for the future; I have to take risks to create it."

3."[...] love is a superpower we all have, but it's not always a superpower I'd be able to control. Especially as I get older. Sometimes it'll go crazy and I shouldn't be scared if my power hits someone I'm not expecting it to."

4."I only care about people who want to be in my life."

5."My Last Message would be to find your people. And treat each day like a lifetime."

There it is, it is a beautiful book (one of my favourite of all times) that has so many moments where you feel for the characters. It also makes you wonder about the meaning of life and how you should live it to the fullest. Also it is a highly quotable book.

-Bookarina

Tuesday, October 15, 2019

Circe by Madeline Miller Book Review

Circe

Circe is inspired by the classic Greek mythology tale of well Circe, this however takes us on a journey as we see what happened through her eyes.
It is written in such a beautiful way, Madeline Miller's writing and storytelling style truly transports and captivates you from the first to the last page, making you think about the story long after it has finished.
Circe was such a lovely character, I loved seeing her progress and how she evolved and changed throughout the story. It was truly a unique take on her, while still staying true to the original tale.
I partially read it in the physical format and partially listened to it on audiobook and I have to say both were a delightful experience, on both accounts I could feel how Circe felt and feel compassion, anger and sadness for what she was put through. I loved seeing how the gods interacted with each other and the mortals. I also really enjoyed seeing how much not only she but other people changed. The way her family and other gods saw her as nothing but an ugly, powerless thing that never should've existed in the first place. The Dynamics between the gods and the Titans was also super interesting, you could still hundreds of years after the great was see how that changed them. Furthermore the compassion and wonderment certain gods had for humans was also so well expressed by the author.
While this one wasn't my favourite of her books (I am trash for her other novel honestly: love it so much), I really had a great time reading it definitely a top book I have ever read.
Overall, I am a huge fan of Madeline Miller's books, her other book "The Song of Achilles" was also a huge hit for me and is one of my favourite books. I have, after reading this one, to recommend her books with a huge READ IT sign because they truly unique.
I cannot recommend this novel enough !

5/5 stars

-Bookarina

Sunday, October 13, 2019

Serpent & Dove by Shelby Mahurin book review

Welcome to this book review !
Serpent & Dove (Serpent & Dove, #1)
First of all the cover, how beautiful is this ! Also, this is the witch story I was waiting for, setting see I never really got over my love for witch stories. This one is one of a kind, there's the hate to love romance and super loveable characters !
This magic system is also quite unique and I loved the medieval French setting, the story takes place when a witch and a witch-hunter are forced to marry, but the witch-hunter doesn't know she's a witch.
Our main character is very funny and I loved how witty she was, the dynamic between the characters were beautifully made, I loved the friendship between Coco and Lou.
It also had many twists and turns that I wasn't expecting, I was thoroughly entertained the whole time, the story really picks up around the 50th page, the world is captivating and I loved that there wasn't insta-love in this novel.
READ THIS NOW; it's one of the best witch book I have read in a long time !
5/5 stars
-Bookarina